You're not currently signed in. Sign in »

Numerical Methods (CS 357) Spring 2015

What Where
Time/place Tue/Thu 12:30pm-1:45pm (M) / 3:30pm-4:45pm (N) / Catalog
Class URL https://bit.ly/cs357-s15
Class recordings Echo 360
Web forum Discuss » · Suggestions (for Andreas)
Material Notes » Demos » Worksheets » Class scribbles »
Calendar View »

Homework

Course Material

Textbook


Coding the matrix
Coding the matrix

Philip N Klein, $31 Paperback, Newtonian Press, 2013


Computing

We will be using Python with the libraries numpy, scipy and matplotlib for in-class work and assignments. No other languages are permitted. Python has a very gentle learning curve, so you should feel at home even if you've never done any work in Python.

Virtual Machine Image

While you are free to install Python and Numpy on your own computer to do homework, the only supported way to do so is using the supplied virtual machine image.

Download Virtual Machine »

On the web

Previous editions of this class

Python Help

Numpy Help

Team

Eric Shaffer

Eric Shaffer

(Instructor, Section M)

Email: shaffer1@illinois.edu

Office: 2103 Siebel


Andreas Kloeckner

Andreas Kloeckner

(Instructor, Section N)

Email: andreask@illinois.edu

Office: 4318 Siebel


Ryne Beeson

Ryne Beeson

(TA)

Email: rbeeson2@illinois.edu

Office: 0209 Siebel


Shelley Goel

Shelley Goel

(TA)

Email: sgoel3@illinois.edu

Office: 0209 Siebel


Arun Lakshmanan

Arun Lakshmanan

(TA)

Email: lakshma2@illinois.edu

Office: 0209 Siebel


Prateek Ranjan

Prateek Ranjan

(TA)

Email: pranjan2@illinois.edu

Office: 0209 Siebel


Karthik Ramaswamy

Karthik Ramaswamy

(TA)

Email: kramasw2@illinois.edu

Office: 0209 Siebel


Qi Wang

Qi Wang

(TA)

Email: qiwang12@illinois.edu

Office: 0209 Siebel


Grading Policies

Please take this short tutorial on our grading policies, followed by a for-credit quiz.

View grading policies tutorial » Take policies quiz »